Skip to content

Carolann Peterson~ Sorority Experience!

July 5, 2012

Who am I?

I’m Carolann Peterson. I’m a small town girl originally from Sanger, Texas but currently live in Wichita Falls with my family.  I am a junior at MSU studying to become a respiratory therapist.  I have a great passion for helping people which is what pursued me to work in the medical field. I’m a huge people person. I love my sorority. I joined my first semester in college and I don’t think without my sisters and families support I wouldn’t have had the college experience that I’ve had. My sorority has made me the kind of person I am proud to say I am.

Why I became Greek?

I decided to go through formal recruitment because a friend of mine, who I met at spirit days, said she was. She said that it’s a sure way to get involved more on campus and a way to make friends. I thought I sure I will give it a try and I signed up. Deciding to go through with recruitment was the best decision that I could have made for myself.

How has my Greek experience benefited me?

As I said before deciding to go through recruitment was the best decision I have ever made. I have become, such a confident, independent, and self-assured woman, the kind of woman I have always wanted to be but couldn’t quite find in myself. I have my sorority and every lovely woman in it to thank for that. I had a tough year last year and without the love and support from my sorority I don’t know what I would have done. After joining, I innately found myself surrounded by amazing girls who I could talk with, hang out with, and volunteer with. Growing up with no sister I was missing that sisterly bond from my life and now I can honestly say I’m not missing that anymore. I have so many amazing sisters now and I am truly blessed to have every one of them in my life.

What my parents, friends, family thought about me going Greek?

When I told my parents I was thinking about joining a sorority, they were a little concerned to be honest. In their minds sororities were the stereotypic party girls, but once I explained to them what sorority life was really like, and not what the media portrayed it as they felt more at ease.  My mom was really excited for me once “recruitment week” arrived because she saw how happy it made me. All my other family was happy I was getting involved in school as I did in high school. As for my best friend she was glad I was making friends in Wichita Falls, given that she doesn’t live here.  Since I’ve become Greek, everyone are so proud of how involved I’ve become especially, all the community service I have done since joining.

What I never expected to get out of going Greek that I have?

I never expected to have so many incredible sisters that I can call up at any time and I know they will be there for me. I never expected to have such a strong support system, a group of girls who really care about me. They are my best friends and will be there for me through every part of my life. I also never expected to become the person I am very proud to say I am.

No comments yet

Leave a comment